Delectable / Vegetables / Writing

Regal French Breakfast Radishes


French Breakfast Radishes photo ©2010 Craig Boroughf

Radish, one of my first loves. My first crop as a six year old urban farmer.

How hard it was to choose the seeds, looking at the abundant array of choices displayed at the hardware store. Each envelope held a tablespoon of seeds, with the promise of magic.

Radish seeds are small, skinny, smaller than sesame seeds for Christmas cookies, fennel seeds for homemade Italian sausage, pumpkin seeds for Halloween or the big-hard-yellow-corn kernels my brother plants.

I dig the dirt with a spade, turn, chop the clumps of dirt with a hoe, pull out the stones, weeds, rake, make a rounded row, stake and sow the seeds.

I mark my crop with the colorful picture (of giant radishes) envelopes on a stake.And plant my first crop,  carrots and radishes with tiny seeds. I water and wait.

When I get squeamish I remind myself, “worms are the farmers friend.” And watch for the tops to pop!

Scarlet crowns Photo ©2010 Craig Boroughf

Sprouts soon stick out of the soil. Scarlet crowns blush below the leafy sprouts.

It’s like  they shout!!!  Pull me out!

I wiggle the radish fingers with tendrils of root free.

What a sight, scarlet red and white.

Swish in the water bucket and bite.

Popping hot and full of delight!

And lucky me, Craig Boroughf sent his recipe… And his beautiful pictures!!!

Arugula and Radish Salad with Sherry Vinaigrette

Arugula and Julienne Radish Salad photo©2010 Craig Boroughf

The peppery bite of the Arugula is matched with the crunchy tartness of the fresh radishes.  The sherry vinaigrette provides just the right amount of sweet and sour to balance the peppery flavors of the salad.  This is fresh, bright, and a little bit bold; there is no mistaking that you are enjoying the great tastes that only fresh vegetables can provide.

6 cups baby Arugula
1 bunch (approximately 10) fresh radishes, with greens

1 shallot, minced
1/4 cup aged sherry vinegar
1 tsp Dijon mustard
1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil
kosher salt
fresh ground black pepper

Wash and spin dry the Arugula, refrigerate until ready to serve.
Wash and trim the greens, tops and root ends of the radishes.  Julienne the radishes and add to the Arugula.

Julienne Radishes Photo ©2010 Craig Boroughf

Prepare Sherry Vinaigrette.  In small bowl, add shallot, sherry vinegar, and Dijon mustard.  Whisk to blend.  While continuing to whisk, slowly drizzle olive oil, until well blended and emulsified.
Lightly dress and toss the Arugula and Radish salad with the vinaigrette.  Serve immediately.

And give a shout-out to the Chicago Blackhawks!!!

Champions with Passion

The Art institute Lions Wear The Chicago Blackhawks Helmet

8 thoughts on “Regal French Breakfast Radishes

  1. What a great story I can just see you planting and waiting. Love it! My garden is a wonder this year, I’ve got lots of lettuce and onions ready!

  2. It looks beautiful and so healthy,impressive julienne, great colors and photography! Adagio again your writing leaves me wanting more…

  3. Awesome Adagio! I love your stories. Your writing really brings an extra dimension of life, passion, enthusiasm, energy and more to this blog and your subjects. Thank you for the great start to my day!

  4. Pingback: Roasted Radish And Shrimp Medley « Italian Handful

Leave a Reply

