Artists and Architecture / Main Dishes / Sea Food / Writing

Art Institute’s de Kooning and Executive Chef Jason Gordon Inspire What’s Next?


                      What now?  My quandary resembled de Kooning’s Untitled XI —

one of his “20 new canvases”completed at 71 years old.

Willem de Kooning  Untitled XI

Willem de Kooning
Untitled XI

What’s next?

What is my passion?

My answers and inspiration come from going outside myself… the Art Institute of Chicago my muse.

I put on my walking shoes, jumped on the 151 bus and met a student from Taiwan, going there too.

I thought of Ryan in China, Brendan and Tori risking… growing, learning, experiencing new things.

IMG_0923

Through a remodeling-maze I found the garden restaurant of  Mc Kinlock Court open for the summer.

A place in the sun. IMG_0905

The staff and their generous spirit equal to the setting and beautiful food.

IMG_0906

Starting with my excellent waiter Moshin Kahn. A pre-med student at RUSH.

Moshin Kahn

Moshin Kahn

His smile a delight as he brought the Seared Sea Scallop entree on a Cauliflower steak!

IMG_0902

Did I say Delicious Seared Cauliflower Steak?

Seared Cauliflower Steak with Madras Curry Sauce

Seared Cauliflower Steak with Madras Curry Sauce

And then to answer my inquiry introduced Executive Chef Jason Gordon, who was stopping to speak to the patrons.

Executive Chef  Jason Gordon

Executive Chef
Jason Gordon

Chef Jason Gordon’s passion is contagious… so contagious I made my first You Tube video…

by ItalianHandful on You Tube.

And on the way home fill my questing spirit to overflowing

with the reflective cascades of  award winning

AQUA TOWER designed Chicago Architect by Jeanne Gang.

Jeanne Gang Architect Award Winning AQUA TOWER

Jeanne Gang Architect
Award Winning AQUA TOWER

                 “I not only use all the brains that I have, but all that I can borrow.”

 —Woodrow Wilson

6 thoughts on “Art Institute’s de Kooning and Executive Chef Jason Gordon Inspire What’s Next?

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.