Cooking with Kids / Desserts / Holidays / Pastry and Pies / Special Occasions / Writing

Struffoli Balls Not From the Bakery For Anthony


This Strufolli recipe is for Anthony. Anthony commented on my Struffoi recipe…and gave me a great laugh.

I ordered the Struffoli balls and didn’t make them… for Easter. Now it’s Christmas and time to make them again.

Sprinkle With Rainbow Nonpareils

Anthony’s Comment: “They look wonderful, but there’s no recipe! Go to an Italian bakery and BUY them? That’s like having a meatball recipe which instructs: “Go to the delicatessen and buy the meatballs and a jar of sauce. Remove lid from jar, pour contents into pot over medium flame, add meatballs and cook until heated. Transfer to a colorful platter and serve. Mmmm delicious. Prep time: 90 seconds.”

I think Anthony may be channeling my mom.  One holiday I bought the fresh ravioli from a local restaurant, gently layered it on  clean linen cloths, doctored some Italian tomato sauce, with fresh basil, parsley and sauteed garlic. Dinner for 12  with me gently placing the ravioli into the boiling water, out al dente with my slotted spoon and served with home-made sauce… My mom went out to the garbage after dinner and pulled out the RAGU jars…  ”I knew you didn’t make it!”

OOOPS!

But don’t tell Santa!

Italian Honey Balls called Struffoli also made during the Christmas holidays and piled high as a Christmas Tree!

Struffoli *

Struffoli Italian Honey Balls

This is the part the recipe doesn’t have…the balls….please. (Italian Fried Dough Balls for coating with honey. Honey Balls)

Struffoli alla Gilda Puglisi found in Beloved Family Recipes by Paolo Villoresi.

The Fried Balls

4 cups unbleached all-purpose flour

5 teaspoons baking powder

⅛ teaspoon cinnamon

1 stick unsalted butter

4 large eggs

½ cup anisette

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

6 cups peanut oil

Mix the flour with the baking powder and cinnamon on a breadboard or counter.  Work in the butter, eggs, anisette, and vanilla. Knead until asoft pliable dough forms, about 5 minutes, adding a little flour if the dough is sticky or a little water if it is dry.  Shape into a ball, place in a bowl, and cover with a damp cloth; let rise for 1 hour at room temperature.  Keeping most of the dough under the damp cloth to prevent it from drying, tear off a small piece with your hands and roll it between you hands into a ½ inch thick log.  Cut into ½ inch pieces. Repeat until all the dough has been cut and shaped.

Heat the oil to 350˚ in a deep pan.  Fry the dough in 4 or 5 batches until it is golden all over and nicely puffed, about 3 minutes per batch. Remove with a slotted spoon to a tray lined with paper towels and blot dry. Transfer to a bowl. This is the strufella or Strufolli. The Balls.

For the rest of the recipe: https://italianhandful.wordpress.com/2011/04/19/struffoli-italian-confetti-honey-balls/

Happy Holly Days

And a Happy New Year!

15 thoughts on “Struffoli Balls Not From the Bakery For Anthony

  1. Haha … You can’t get away with anything… Love it! Keep writing anything, I loved getting the email this morning that you had posted something new! It’s fun to be a little naughty 🙂

  2. Hi. Great to see your post.

    Little Naughty……………can’t have a name like “Italian Handful” and not be a little naughty. 🙂

  3. OK> I was able to open the recipe and I can’t wait to try it, which I will do today. On Friday, my assistant, who is a phenomenal cook and baker and I are going to have a struffoli cook off to see who can make the best struffoli. I’m sure your recipe will get the blue ribbon. But I must be careful. I don’t want to beat her so badly that she’ll quit!
    How do I send photos?

    • Anthony, “Struffoli Cook Off” you are fun, no wonder your friends are still doing things with you, and fooodies too! You can send the photos as an email attachment, I’ll send you my email address. Take the pictures in natural light for best results and go for it…style them. Bravo to your assistant she sounds perfect! Wish I could taste them! Adagio

  4. I really missed seeing my family this holiday season so I thought I’d see if our “Italian Handful” resumed blogging and she did.

    I came to the right place…
    Love you all.
    Bern

  5. I wanted to thank you and congratulate you on this blog with me for quite some time. I love the atmosphere there by the color images you have selected, the daily messages … it’s part of my bubble and dreams of escape.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.